Peevish

Mis-used words are my biggest pet peeves. I would count people passing me on the right as a pet peeve, but it is too dangerous to be a “pet”. Drivers using exit or merge lanes to pass me is terrifying. I am already I the slow lane, you fuckers! 

But words. I need words to be consistent if not exact. I hate popular phrases that get shortened until their words mean something else, but the phrase is still used for the same meaning. Worst example is “I could not care less” being shortened to “I could care less” but being used synonymously. 

My husband describes failures as “skyrocketing down”. This confuses me badly. Skyrockets evoke images and concepts of rising, charging upwards, climbing. Eentallyi realized that to him, skyrocket just means “amazingly fast.” He is not referring to a rocket that is blasting towards outer space. 

By the example of caring less or not caring less, I could say that he IS referring to a rocket that is blasting towards outer space and expect you to understand that it means the opposite. 

My eye just twitched. I peeved myself.

Leave a Reply

