Remember to What?

You Know You’re ADHD When…you forget to take your allergy drops because you distracted yourself by planning to take your allergy drops as soon as you remember to take them.

This morning I was re-filling the water pitcher and remembered to take the drops. I thought, “I’ll take them as soon as I’m done with the pitcher.” Then I thought, “No, I’ll forget by then. The important thing is to do it as soon as you remember.” And I visualized myself putting everything down to go take the drops.

I thought that was brilliant, and I agreed with myself, and planned to take them AS SOON AS I REMEMBERED. Every time! Good plan.

And in all that thinking, I forgot to take them. The drops were about four feet away from me, in plain sight. I put the pitcher away and remembered the drops when I arrived in the parking lot at work.

Today is a high pollen count day, so my eyes itch like mad. Because I forgot those drops.

Last night, I ate half my dinner so I could save the other half for lunch today. I exercised restraint (except for wine) and was super proud of myself. “This is how it’s done! Cut back on calories and save time.” Half my salmon and almost half my sweet potato fries went into a container.

I left the container on the counter to cool. “Don’t want to waste electricity, putting hot food into the refrigerator. Maybe I should set a timer to remind myself to put the food away! Hey, I’ll use the microwave oven timer!”

Then I left the kitchen. I did not set the timer. My container was still waiting on the counter this morning. Now my intended lunch is an offering to the buzzards.

Leave a Reply

