Repotting

Plot Planter
episode 1
volume 1

I need to overcome my lack of fear of death. I know, it’s supposed to work the other way around but in my case, I keep thinking I have plenty of time. This works against the Creative’s need for deadlines. Deadlines. I think that etymology should work in my favor.

I asked Janet Lee to do a tiny Baby Groot card for me. I’m excited! Original artwork! Need to mail her a check.

Plants are inside now. House plants are tropical and can’t do cold weather. October gets cold quickly, we could have frost any day now.

I put lettuce seeds in the kitchen garden but the cat used the beds for a litterbox. And there’s deer everywhere all of a sudden. Gardening at Asbury is an entirely different situation than it was at Sunrise.

There’s a bug of some sort on one of my houseplants, looks like a stinkbug. Have to get rid of it. It may suffer a burial “at sea”.

Very frustrated about the fact that no sooner had I decided to sing for half an hour every evening, the elm pollen kicked up and I’ve had a sore throat and earaches ever since. Maybe that was a hint to start writing again?

My creative outlets include: Gardening, Sewing, Singing, Baritone Ukulele, Painting, Writing, Dancing, and probably a few other things I don’t recall off the top of my head. I used to do crochet but my shoulder is too tight now for it. Trying to balance all of these is difficult. All of them are important to me, music and writing most and gardening and dance next. Surely all these things can work together in me. There is definitely a way to do all of them and still be good at music, writing music and writing.

I need to figure this out because I’m frustrated with my lack of focus and accomplishment. So, what tools do I have at hand? I can: Set Intentions, Cast Spells, Meditate, Set Reminders on my Phone, Be Accountable, Set an Example, Assist Fellow Creatives. WEll that sounds promising.

Is there a Creative Deadline Training Program? Like when athletes train for a race or game? Surely the same kind of system can work. Practice 4 days a week and game on Friday night, right? πŸ™‚ Two days off per week. So what do you practice? I guess some practices are just play the game, but mostly it’s learning how to play the parts of the game and repreating until you understand it. Well, that’s how it works for music.

Or, there’s Making a Dress analogy. FIrst, gather raw material. Then, you spin thread. Then, you weave cloth. Then, you dye cloth. THen, you choose style of dress. Then, you choose pattern. Then, you cut pattern. Then, you sew pieces together. THen, you add finishing touches like buttons, embroidery, and measure the hem.

I think this is a good analogy! Since I know nothing about sports except for running, it’s unlikely I’d be able to draw an analogy to sports practices. RUnning is a simple sport, it’s more analogous to just part of the Dress analogy.

I forgot to set a timer, I don’t know how long I’ve been writing. I feel like I’m done. Maybe I should write a certain number of words per day. Or have a dual minimum; at least so many words and/or so much time spent.

All work and no play makes Jane a dull girl
All work and no play makes Jane a dull girl
All work and no play – πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

